ARTIST: Stefan Bonitz
INSTALLATION YEAR: 2016
MEDIUM: Painted Steel
LOCATION: 44 Boundary Street
Functional yet stylistic, this beckoning bench graces the former N.C. National Guard Armory, a stately historic landmark built in 1936 by the Civilian Conservation Corps. The piece pays tribute to the loyal heroes of Waynesville who have defended their town, state and country.
The ever-watchful rifleman in an iconic militia hat, along with the backrest shaped like a map of the state, echoes the logo of the North Carolina National Guard. Its motto — “Always Ready” — and the year 1663 when the state militia was founded are also incorporated.
The common-man soldier crafted from salvaged farm and railroad implements is a symbolic salute to those who laid down their tools when a call to arms came.